UC Santa Barbara

July 9th-12th, 2018

Award Categories

Please note:

The categories for the CCC Board of Governors Energy and Sustainability Award Competition are different from the UC/CSU award categories. Information regarding the CCC Board of Governor’s Award Compeition have not yet been released.  The information on the rest of the page is specific to UC and CSU campuses.

Categories for the 2017 Competition

  • Sustainable Foodservice
  • HVAC Design/Retrofit and Commissioning
  • Lighting Design/Retrofit
  • Overall Sustainable Design – New Construction and Major Renovation
  • Student Sustainability Leadership
  • Sustainability in Academics
    • Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
    • Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
  • Sustainability Innovations
  • Sustainable Transportation
  • Innovative Waste Reduction
  • Water Efficiency/Site Water Quality
  • Sustainability Champion

Full Descriptions of Award Categories

Sustainable Foodservice

This award will highlight a program, organization, or group that has integrated sustainability into campus foodservice in one (or more) of the following areas: procurement, operations, education, and community outreach. Applicants are encouraged but not required to highlight accomplishments in the following areas: energy efficiency, water conservation, waste reduction, and sustainable food purchases.

HVAC Design/Retrofit and Commissioning

Projects in this category should demonstrate leadership in HVAC equipment selection, distribution system design, controls specification, and commissioning practices. Examples include: appropriate equipment sizing; energy efficient equipment selection; maximizing the benefits of local climate; air distribution system innovation; and fume hood control innovation.

Lighting Design/Retrofit

Projects in this category should demonstrate leadership in a new design or retrofit of lighting delivery systems and lighting control systems. Examples include: energy efficient fixture selection and deployment; utilization of daylighting technologies; and use of advanced lighting control technologies.

Overall Sustainable Design – New Construction and Major Renovation

This category is for best overall design for energy efficiency in a new building or major building renovation. The building should show outstanding implementation of sustainability principles and energy efficiency measures. The building design must have been completed between January 1, 2010 and January 1, 2016. Priority will be given to projects that have been constructed, and can provide actual energy performance data, but projects that have only completed design are still encouraged to apply.

Student Sustainability Leadership

This award will spotlight an individual, program, organization, or group that has demonstrated real leadership in student-led energy efficiency and sustainability efforts. Award candidates will be engaged in campus activities that seek to leverage student interest and commitment to sustainability in order to increase energy awareness on campus; realize environmentally-friendly campus policies and commitments; and involve students in efficiency activities that compliment their campus’ goals and that result in measurable savings.

Sustainability in Academics (STEM or Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences)

This award is meant to highlight the unique role that college campuses play in advancing sustainability—educating students. The award is also meant to recognize programs that are contributing to the educational component of the American College and University President’s Climate Commitment (ACUPCC), to which all UC campuses and several CSU campuses are signatories, which states that signatories need to develop “actions to make climate neutrality and sustainability a part of the curriculum and other educational experiences for all students”. Academic programs and projects that are eligible to apply for the award include (but are not limited to) classes focused on sustainability, sustainability majors and minors, general education sustainability requirements, and interdisciplinary learning communities. The award application must be submitted by a faculty member.

Sustainability Innovations

This award category was created to recognize sustainability projects that do not fit into any of the other award categories. Projects applying in this category should be replicable best practices that do not meet the criteria of the other awards categories. Examples include renewable energy generation, environmentally preferable purchasing, and community engagement campaigns.

Sustainable Transportation

This category highlights outstanding projects or programs in transportation management that reduce greenhouse gas emissions, other air pollutants, and traffic congestion. This may be achieved through reduced single-occupancy vehicle commuting, fuel switching, reduced air miles travelled, and other mechanisms. Applicants with documentation or calculations of associated emissions reductions will be given special consideration throughout the review process.

Innovative Waste Reduction

This award will spotlight a pilot project or waste reduction program that has demonstrated significant waste reduction and recycling. Evaluation criteria include: innovation, cost effectiveness, replicable and scalable, and the thoroughness of project planning, implementation and evaluation.

Water Efficiency/Site Water Quality

This category highlights outstanding water efficiency projects that have measurable and documented savings. Additionally, projects that significantly improve or protect site water quality may submit under this category. Applicants with documentation or calculations of associated energy savings will be given special consideration throughout the review process. Examples of water quality projects include bioswales and riparian zone restoration.

Sustainability Champion

Open to: UC, CSU, and Private Colleges and Universities

The Sustainability Champion Award is the highest level and only individual level award given at the CA Higher Education Sustainability Conference within our Best Practice Awards Program. The Sustainability Champion award is given to an individual person who has been a role model to their peers around the state; has promoted sustainability throughout their campus; achieved results; and who truly embodies the term “leader”. The Sustainability Champion must be nominated by someone from a different campus than their own.  Please refer to the Sustainability Champion website for more details.