UC Santa Barbara

April 28th - May 1st, 2021: Climate Justice Symposium for Transforming Education; July 2021 CHESC

Past Award Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of the eighth annual Energy Efficiency and Sustainability Best Practice Awards competition:

Overall Sustainable Design

  • UC Berkeley, Energy Biosciences Building
  • CSU Maritime Academy, Dining Center

HVAC Design/Retrofit

  • UC San Diego, Geisel Library HVAC Control Retrofit
  • San Diego State, Wireless DART HVAC Controls

Lighting Design/Retrofit

  • UC Santa Cruz, Phase I and II Campus Wide Lighting Retrofit
  • CSU Chico, Merriam Library Lighting Retrofit

Monitoring-Based Commissioning

  • UC Berkeley, Davis Hall
  • CSU San Marcos, Kellogg Library

Student Energy Efficiency Program

  • UC Berkeley, Green Cup Competition
  • CSU Long Beach, Green Campus Program

Student Sustainability Program

  • UC Santa Barbara, Plastics Pollution Coalition
  • Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, Green Campus Program

Water Efficiency & Site Water Quality

  • UC Santa Cruz, Water Efficiency and Management Improvement Plan
  • Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, Irrigation Water Conservation and Site Water Quality Program

Innovative Waste Reduction

  • UC San Francisco, Instructional Recycling Video
  • Humboldt State, Food Waste Diversion and Utilization Pilot Program

Sustainable Foodservice

  • UC Santa Barbara, Root 217 Cafe

Sustainability Innovations

  • UC Santa Barbara, South Coast Sustainability Summit
  • Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, Sustainability Mentor Program
  • (Honorable mention) UC Davis, Campus Grown Greenery for Dining Services

Sustainability Champions

Private College Sustainability Champion – TBA*The Sustainability Champion Awards are announced the night of the Awards BanquetCalifornia State University Sustainability Champion – TBA University of California Sustainability Champion – TBA